Subscription Addiction

I think it’s time to admit that I am addicted to subscription craft boxes. When they come in the mail I am positively giddy. My favorite box for the past five months has been from For the Makers. Each box has a theme and includes four projects. Usually, three of the projects are fairly simple (taking 10 to 30 minutes) and one requires a bit more commitment. Since I started my subscription I have been introduced to so many new techniques and crafts that I never would have picked up on my own, including jewelry making, dyeing with kool-aid and macrame. At this point I have a bit of project backup (I also subscribe to Darby Box and Whimsey Box), but I’m hoping to start plowing through the projects so I can review the boxes on a monthly basis. 

This month’s box was inspired by beautiful African beaches, bright clothing an spice markets. The projects have been very fun and I’m so happy with how everything turned out! It is so satisfying to actually complete several projects from start to finish over the weekend.

I started with the Zozo eye pillow, 

Infused with chamomile and lavender, this eye pillow provides instant stress relief.

Infused with chamomile and lavender, this eye pillow provides instant stress relief.

and added some cute embroidery to make it a little more personalized. This project took me most of the day, since i am continuously interrupted during my crafting sessions, but it was well worth the time. The lavender and chamomile smell absolutely divine. Aside from the embroidery, the only detour I took from the tutorial was to use a ladder stitch to finish the edges and add the pom poms. 

This morning I tackled the jewelry, creating adorable West Cape hoop earrings and the Sapeurs fabric wrapped bangle. Both were simple and fun projects that I completed in about

Makena cloth wrapped bracelet and tassel earrings.

Makena cloth wrapped bracelet and tassel earrings.

15 minutes.

I love that the For the Makers curators pick up on trends before I even know about them. Just after I finished my little eye pillow I saw these adorable blue pom pom shoes featured on etsy. Later, I was perusing the July issue of Martha Stewart and saw that she included a tutorial for fabric wrapped bangles. Normally I am challenged when it comes to fashion and trends (I pretty much live in black t-shirts and jeans) but every once in a while it’s nice to fool people into thinking I  know what’s in style. In fact, while I usually stick to simple silver studs, today you will actually see me wearing my tassel earrings, and feeling pretty good about it too. 

Thanks to For the Makers for helping me be just a little bit trendy.

Thanks to For the Makers for helping me be just a little bit trendy.

Leave a Reply

