The (kinda) Big Reveal

I’ve been hard at work trying to get my craft room in order and it has been a huge DIY project in itself. I’m so excited to finally have a space of my own where I can be inspired, get some work done, and possibly even have a little quiet time. So far I’m finding that the layout works perfectly and it really functional.  My goal was to design a space with lots of room to work, storage for large and small supplies, and lots of personality. I also wanted to somehow break up the large finished area of our basement so I could retreat into my nook without feeling like I had to go on a massive cleaning and organization rampage before I started my work.

So far, it seems the space is going to work out perfectly. I love being secluded from the explosion of toys that takes over our house on a daily basis. And as much as I might like to be able to shut a door and block out all the noise that comes with those toys, it’s awfully convenient to be able to hear and see the kids as they play next to my work space.

I wish I was better at taking photos (another thing to learn!) but for now, this is what I have.

IMG_1775

The Kallax 4×4 shelving system works great as a room divider.

IMG_1773

My computer used to be in the kitchen. Now it’s hidden from view and little fingers.

IMG_1760

I chose the Tornlinden table top and Olov legs to create and elevated and comfortable work table that is large enough for two people.

IMG_1774

Lots of bars and jars for sorting and organizing buttons, beads, pins and other small items.

And immediately adjacent to my crafting space we have a lego building center- perfect for keeping the kiddos busy while I do my thing (unless we have a missing piece, of course, in which case I am forced to get involved in the building process).

 

IMG_1770

Leave a Reply

